2012 – My year in Review

It’s funny how a year flies by. I think of how much has happened to me in the past year and am excited for the new year. I finished my Doctorate, published a few articles, wrote a book, hired an agent, and am attempting to publish the book. I interviewed some of the top HR leaders in Canada and have grown more passionate about HR in doing so. I also realized that many of these leaders are pondering the same issues most HR leaders deal with.

I work in HR and a large portion of my job is labour relations. I’m intentionally careful about what I post / share because it’s usually not appropriate to share the really interesting stuff. It’s been an interesting and challenging year at work and I think I’ve grown a lot as well. I’ve experienced things that some HR Professionals may never experience (collective bargaining, union certifications etc.). My team is stronger than ever, and it’s awesome to watch them continue to grow into HR Professionals.

I’ve written lots of articles/posts on this blog, many of which were published on LDRLB. Some were ignored; others were read and shared widely. But it’s fun to flesh out my thoughts on leadership in public forums and hearing different points of view. I feel that the more I study leadership, the less I know. I’m sure many other scholars feel the same way. It’s such a broad field and there is so much I still don’t know. That’s why I love it and why I’ve spent so many years studying it.

To everyone who reads/follows this blog, thanks so much for your comments and emails. I love the debates and look forward to 2013!

About Tim Vanderpyl
I am a student of leadership and human resources, and I'm blogging to share some of my thoughts and ideas with readers. I'm a CHRP (Certified Human Resource Professional) at a large healthcare organization, a graduate of Regent University's Doctor of Strategic Leadership program, and lover of the life that God has gifted me with.

One Response to 2012 – My year in Review

  1. Pingback: URL

Leave a Reply

