Google & HR Analytics

Just read a fascinating article at TLNT entitled How Google is Using people Analytics to Completely Reinvent HR.

We (HR Professionals) are definitely very guilty of using “just because” as a rationale for implementing our ideas. We should pay these people more “just because” they deserve to be. We should add this benefit “just because” it would be nice for our employees to have. We should offer this course “just because” we think employees would want it. Very seldom to be provide any rationale or metrics to prove our arguments. I still remember the sheepish looks I got from some of the heads of HR I interviewed for my Doctoral research. When I asked them about HR metrics, most sheepishly relied “yah Tim, we should probably be doing a better job of evaluating what we do…but we don’t…it’s on our list this year though.” It was funny to hear that repeated but I suspect most HR departments are similar.

The problem is, some of the “soft” aspects of our organizations are difficult to quantify. I work in healthcare, and it’s really difficult to measure the performance and ROI of a healthcare professional’s work. That’s not an excuse, it’s just a reality of people industries. Healthcare is not Google, but we can probably learn a lot from Google still.

About Tim Vanderpyl
I am a student of leadership and human resources, and I'm blogging to share some of my thoughts and ideas with readers. I'm a CHRP (Certified Human Resource Professional) at a large healthcare organization, a graduate of Regent University's Doctor of Strategic Leadership program, and lover of the life that God has gifted me with.

Leave a Reply

